COVID-19 Testimonials 

COVID-19 Long Hauler
I wanted to write a short note to tell you how much the Hyperbaric Chamber Oxygen Treatments (HBOT) helped me with my Long Hauler COVID-19 issues. When I started HBOT, I was in really bad shape. It was amazing how much it helped me recover. Each time I got out of the hyperbaric chamber, I noticed a remarkable improvement. I am now back to 100%, thanks to you.

 

 

COVID-19 Long Hauler
I had my first Coronoviurus symptom one year ago. It was March 5, 2020. I experienced a noticeably dry cough at noon that day. My wife started having symptoms 2 days later. We went to our Primary Care Physician on March 9th and saw the PA. He had us tested for the Flu, which was negative, and prescribed Prednisone. I told him that I had discomfort under my sternum when breathing. Exactly one week later, my wife, who has COPD, and has oxygen available at our home, was better. I was getting worse, with it getting harder to breath daily. I went back to my MD on the next Monday. I told him that my lungs felt "tight" and that I had difficulty breathing. He prescribed Prednisone and I received a steroid injection. I asked how long it would be until I felt better and the answer was "in about 2 days". Two days after my steriod injection, I was using my wife's oxygen to simply get to the bathroom, and I told my wife, "If I don't go to the ER tomorrow morning, I'm going to die right here."


The next morning, an ambulance took me to a local hospital ER. I was tested for both the flu and COVID and was immediately started on an IV antibiotic drip. I was admitted to the hospital. I was informed that I tested positive for COVID-19. I was started on Hydroxychloroquine. 24 hours later, I was Hi-Flow oxygen and my Physician recommended that I be placed on a ventilator. I refused at that time and asked to wait until the next morning to further access my condition. Fortunately, I was discharged from the hospital later in the week. I laid on the couch at home for 3 weeks, until I had two negaive COVID tests in order to see my Pulmonologist. He gave me more Prednisone and an immunosuppressant drug. I was seen by another Pulmonologist, who diagnosed me with COVID Viral Pneumonia with pulmonary scarring and fibrosis.

My wife was a patient to Dr. Zant's for other reasons and I was informed that Dr. Zant was successfully treating COVID-19 Long Haulers with Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy (HBOT). My HBOT sessions resulted in marked improvement in my breathing ability. HBOT made it possible for me to return to my normal condition, breathing and all, no long suffering from chronic COVID symptoms.

Thank you so much Dr. Zant and your wonderful staff. I highly recommend HBOT therapy to all post COVID-19 "Long Haulers." I also had "COVID Toe", which was completely cleared up with the HBOT treatments.

 

COVID-19 Long Hauler
I am so thankful for Dr. Eddie Zant, MD and Hyperbaric Medicine of Fort Walton Beach and Destin, FL for providing me the opportunity to use Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy (HBOT) for my extended COVID-19 chronic symptoms (LONG HAULER). Prior to HBOT, I was unable to do my normal daily work requirements without getting out of breath. Walking in and out of the X-ray room, taking X-Rays on my patients was impossible without stopping to take breaks or asking for help. Now, after Hyperbaric Oxygen Ttherapy, I can work normally and exercise normally. I feel much better and have more energy. Thanks so much. I miss all of you and hope you stay well.

 

 

COVID-19 Long Haulers Symptoms Relief
Over six months ago, I tested positive for COVID-19. I had some coughing, aches, and a fever on and off for a few days. I slept a ton for about two weeks. I thought I had recovered. I felt worn down. I was sleeping terribly and tired all the time. I had headaches. I was having lots of trouble concentrating on work. Remembering simple words and keeping numbers straight was such an issue that I dreaded making or answering calls. I was feeling anxious and depressed. 2020 was a weird year! I really wasn't sure how much to attribute to long haulers and how much was just the stress of the last year. I signed up to try hyperbaric oxygen treatment with Dr. A. E. (Eddie) Zant, MD in Fort Walton Beach, FL after seeing a news story about it. I was hoping it would help my 13 year old COVID infected son who is still coming home and napping almost every day after school, but I wanted to try it first.


I cannot believe the difference in such a short period of time. I haven't had a headache since my first treatment. I was tired after the first few, but by the fourth treatment, I had a huge change in my energy level. My brain fog is gone. My energy and mental sharpness are better than they were pre-infection. My eyes are bright, and my vision is better. I had a 20+ year old nagging injury in my foot that has stopped aching. My gums stopped bleeding when I brush my teeth (I thought my cinnamon toothpaste was red-ish in color until this morning!) I am sleeping like a rock and waking up rested. I cannot believe the change. I really had no idea how badly I felt until I felt better. I highly recommend going to Dr. Zant MD for Hyperbaric Oxygen therapy if you suspect you have long haulers. It has given me my life back in just a few days, and I can't wait for it to do the same for my son! Thank you Dr. Zant!



Hyperbaric Treatment for COVID-19
In Mid-July of 2020 I came down with what was initially thought to be the flu. Within a couple of days my condition surpassed typical flu-like symptoms and progressed to intensive headaches, chills, dry cough, shortness of breath, body, and muscle aches, and eventually a loss of taste and smell. I was subsequently diagnosed with Covid-19.

Following three weeks of quarantine I was deemed fit to resume normal daily activities. However, my body did not agree. While many symptoms faded away, I discovered some did not. Weeks passed and I endured. I found that the smallest of tasks required immense
effort. Climbing a flight of stairs would leave me winded. I suffured from chronic fatigue yet had difficulty sleeping. I lived with a perpetual cough and a constant pressure in my chest. The symptoms became my "new normal".

As time progressed, I grew more and more concerned with my condition. I feared not only would I be well again, but that I may be doing permanent damage to my lungs and body. I decided to seek medical attention and thankfully was introduced to Dr.Zant and his staff at Hyperbaric Medicine of Florida.

Dr. Zant took the time to helop me understand the process of hyperbaric oxygen therapy. He shared his passion for his practice and belief taht I would benefit from HBOT. From the moment I met Dr. Zant to my final visit, I was treated with care, compassion, and true concern. I found his staff to be highly professional and keenly focused on my condition and immprovement. Throughout my treatment, I was closely monitored. My level of comfort was always priority one.

I am grateful for Dr. Zant, his staff, and my experience at Hyperbaric Medicine. The results of my HBOT treatment have returned me to a normal life. I no longer experience chronic fatigue, a persistant cough, or shortness of breath. The pressure in my chest is gone. Today I can say, outside of the memory, I feel like I never had COVID-19.



Concussion Testimonials  


Concussion Update From Dr. Zant
As a physician, I would like to share my experience in evaluating and treating concussions (mild Traumatic Brain Injury - mTBI) in military and civilian patients over the last 3 years. In this article, concussion and mTBI refer to identical injuries. This is a very pertinent discussion at this time because of the recent unfortunate shooting incident in Afghanistan by a US Military soldier diagnosed with TBI (traumatic brain injury). The Rand Corporation estimates that there are over 350,000 US military men and women suffering from concussion symptoms (mTBI) and PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder) as a result of blast incidents in Iraq and Afghanistan. Many of these wounded warriors are still trying to cope with their injured brain disabilities. Many are being redeployed after the diagnosis of TBI is made. They have not been able to return to a normal and productive lifestyle. In the civilian population, concussions occur in more than 6 per 1,000 people each year. Common causes of civilian concussion are falls or blows to the head, motor vehicular accidents, bike accidents, sport injuries, or exposure to loud noises (explosion, etc). Most concussions (80-90%) resolve in a short period (7-10 days). 

I was an active duty US Army physician from 1969 to 1971 and am very familiar with military medicine. All of our recently treated concussed patients were months, some years, post concussion and were still experiencing severe post concussion symptoms. One of my patients was a US Army Brig General concussed in Afghanistan by an IED explosion. His resulting concussion symptoms and cognitive impairment issues lasted for months before successful treatment with hyperbaric oxygen therapy.

In the past 3 years, I have treated over 25 concussed (TBI) military patients for lingering concussion symptoms. I have been using hyperbaric oxygen therapy (HBOT) to treat these patients. None of these patients had life threatening head injuries. All had normal CT Scans/MRIs. Symptoms in these patients included cognitive impairment, loss of memory, headaches, depression, fatigue, anger and irritability, sleep disturbances, loss of multitasking and executive functions, and hyper vigilance. All patients had successful results from HBOT therapy and either returned to full military duty, continued in school, or returned to full civilian employment.

The Department of Defense has developed criteria for the diagnosis of mTBI (concussions) which must include one of the following:

1. Any period of loss of or decreased level of consciousness lasting less then 30 minutes;
2. Any loss of memory of events immediately before or after the injury lasting less than 24 hours after the event;
3. Any alteration in mental state at the time of the injury such as confusion, disorientation, or slowed thinking lasting less than 24 hours; 
4. Transient neurological deficits (e.g. weakness, loss of balance, change in vision, praxis, paresis or plegia, sensory loss, aphasia and;
5. Normal intracranial imaging. 

All of our patients were previously treated by different agencies with medication only, which gave them little or no relief from their disabling concussion symptoms. Our patients received a total of over 1400 HBOT treatments without any complications or adverse reactions. Patients were all treated in a rigid hyperbaric oxygen chamber at 1.5 ATA (17 ft) on 100% oxygen for 60 minutes. The hyperbaric mTBI protocol calls for a minimum of 40 treatments with up to 80 treatments if necessary. Treatment plans and the need for additional HBOT treatments are based upon the clearing of concussion symptoms and improvement in neuropsychological (neurocognitive) (NP) testing. 

Neurocognitive testing is used to evaluate the concussed patient’s post injury neurocognitive condition and to track improvements made with HBOT therapy. Neurocognitive testing is an assessment tool that can be used to identify changes in a patient’s cognitive function and mood state as a result of some debilitating event. Neurocognitive testing has become the most important modality in management and determination of a full recovery in concussed patients. The military NP test used was the ANAM (Automated Neuropsychological Assessment Metrics) test. 

The ANAM was developed by the military to evaluate and follow the progress of TBI patients. A baseline NP test is performed before deployment with repeat testing following concussion injuries. During HBOT therapy, the ANAM test is administered after each 20 HBOT treatments to document the progress and improvement in the injured brain. A different NP test is given to our civilian patients. All NP testing is done on an office computer and takes about 25 minutes. Report printouts are available immediately. These reports, along with examination and discussions with the patient and family, are used to determine if HBOT is indicated or needs to be continued. 

There is controversy concerning the use of HBOT in the treatment of concussed patients. The majority of military mTBI patients are currently being treated primarily with prescription medications for their symptoms. Many of our military patients commented they were in a constant “brain fog” as a result of all the medications they were prescribed. They received sleeping pills if sleep was an issue, pain medication for headaches, antidepressants for depression, tranquilizers for anxiety, and so forth. None of these medications treat the cause of TBI/PTSD, which is the injured brain. Hyperbaric oxygen therapy, through research and clinical use, has demonstrated being effective in repairing the injured brain. The current research is based upon both animal and human studies. There is a multitude of currently published medical literature demonstrating the benefit of HBOT in the treatment and repairing of injured brains. 

Some of the criticisms in the use of HBOT treatment of concussions from different agencies are based upon the fact HBOT is not currently approved by the FDA for the specific treatment of mTBI. Many clinical studies are underway at this time studying the effectiveness of HBOT in the treatment of TBI/PTSD. The FDA will not approve procedures that are still in the clinical study mode. We, as hyperbaric physicians, have successfully treated hundreds of TBI/PTSD military personnel, all with no adverse effects. HBOT is currently approved by the FDA to treat four types of brain injuries. These brain injuries include carbon monoxide poisoning, decompression sickness (Bends), arterial gas embolism to the brain, and acute blindness from central retinal artery occlusion. We, as physicians, are allowed to use treatment modalities not FDA approved as long as we do no harm to the patient and there is benefit in the treatment. We, as a group of physicians, believe it is a mistake to currently deny these thousands of brain injured military personnel the treatments which have shown to be completely effective in treating successfully and permanently mTBI and PTSD. Most of us treating hyperbaric physicians have not been paid at all by the military or the VA for our services to these injured men and women. I believe I speak for the group when I say that we perform this service because we know it works, we respect the military and what it stands for, and that our injured men and women deserve the most effective currently available treatment for their injuries after putting their lives on the line for our country. 

Dr. Paul Harch, MD gave testimony to the US House of Representatives in 2012 pointing out that nearly all of the medications being prescribed by Military Medicine and the Veterans Administration are being used “OFF-LABEL” as the standard of care for blast induced TBI and PTSD, despite little or no research to support this prescribing. An estimated 120 combat Veterans per week or more than 10,000 overall have committed suicide according to the CDC numbers investigated by CBS News. The House Veteran Affairs Committee was told earlier that many of the suicides were related to the use of the FDA Black-Box drugs being used off-label. These drugs carry specific warnings about increased suicide rates

Our first mTBI military patients were treated with HBOT in 2009. The two Airmen were in an armored semi-truck when they were involved in an IED explosion in Iraq. Neither man lost consciousness, but both were dazed and somewhat confused initially. Both experienced the immediate onset of headaches. They were seen at an aid station later in the day, given acetaminophen, and returned to duty. Over a period of weeks, these men began to experience debilitating concussive symptoms, such as severe headaches, memory loss, cognitive issues, anger/irritability issues, and severe sleep disturbances. Upon returning to the U.S., they were referred to our facility for HBOT by Col.(Dr.) James Wright, USAF Special Operations Command Surgeon and Board Certified Hyperbaric Physician. 

Fortunately, both men were given screening neuropsychological tests (ANAM) before they deployed to Iraq, so we were able to compare their post injury tests with the baseline NP tests. Post injury testing revealed both men to be severely cognitively impaired from their concussions. Both received a series of HBOT treatments with NP testing after each 20 treatments. At the end of their HBOT treatments, both men were completely free of all previous mTBI symptoms. Both returned to their pre-injury NP baseline scores after HBOT treatments. One man required 40 treatments and the other 80 HBOT treatments to return to their baseline NP scores. These Airmen are still on active duty. I recently spoke with both men, and they are doing well without any concussion signs or symptoms. Col. Wright and I published a case report of these men in a major peer reviewed medical journal. 

There is a lot of attention currently in the press and on the Internet regarding our TBI wounded men and women. There is an ongoing national brain injury rescue rehabilitation (NBIRR) study sanctioned by the Western Institutional Review Board (WIRB) using HBOT in concussed patients. There are 12 hyperbaric centers in the USA involved with this study. This is an unfunded study, so all treating facilities are providing the HBOT treatments to our injured veterans on their own “nickel.” This study can be accessed by searching www.nbirr.org on the Internet and clicking on the “clinicaltrials.gov” box. 

Dr. Paul Harch, Dr. James Wright, Dr. Bill Duncan, Dr. Rob Beckman, and former Secretary of the Army Martin Hoffmann are currently playing key roles pro bono in an attempt to obtain funding for HBOT treatments for our wounded warriors. These men meet regularly with top Military officials and members of Congress in this attempt. The Navy League (www.navyleague.org) recently released a video about the use of HBOT in treating TBI in military men and women. At the end of the video, both the Chief of Naval Operations and the Commandant of the Marine Corps acknowledge at a Congressional hearing their support for the use of HBOT in treating their TBI injured personnel. 

Links to all publications, videos, references, and military patients’ HBOT testimonials referred to in this article can be viewed at our website, www.flhbot.com. I believe there may be a lot of response to this article. Some will be good, some may be critical. The VA and military do offer a variety of other treatment modalities to our wounded TBI troops. We believe the data and experience generated by the thousands of HBOT treatments used to successfully treat mTBI/PTSD warrants the acceptance by governmental agencies of this method of treatment for our TBI/PTSD wounded men and women.

Respectfully, 

Dr. Albert E. Zant, MD ( Eddie Zant MD)




Concussion Testimonial


Most people appreciate their days by counting their birthdays, their wedding anniversaries, their children's birthdays and weddings, and their grandchildren's birthdays.


A few of us count our "Alive Day." Mine is August 21, 2005. The place was a dirt road near a river in Paghman, Afghanistan. When the red and black cleared and the debris finished falling from the sky from the IED explosion, I was alive. I was grateful. I had a "new normal." I'm told I experienced the second IED in Afghanistan directed against the NATO Coalition.


During my life, I had enjoyed some modest success and private as well as public accomplishments. Now, I was ambulatory but was light sensitive. I had lost short term memory, reasoning, word finding, reading comprehension, and problem solving ability. I had headaches. I couldn't concentrate. I couldn't solve simple arithmetic problems and was confounded by the use of common technology like changing the time on a watch or operating a self-service gas pump. My penmanship had changed. I was overwhelmed by information, even something as simple as reading a menu. I couldn't sleep. I had all of my "pieces and parts," albeit some did not work as originally intended. I was told by a physician that the "tincture of time" was the only way to address the "traumatic brain injury" or "closed cranial injury" or "post concussion syndrome" or "cognitive difficulties not otherwise specified" that I suffered. I was offered pharmaceuticals (some off label) to manage some symptoms. My wife made my appointments, led me to them, and carried on discussions which I didn't remember. I did know there was a limit on how much time I had to recover before the Army would review my ability to continue to serve.


As a wounded reservist, I was faced with the loss of both my military career and my civilian career and was involved in a formal process that seemed to assume that all wounded warriors were able to negotiate the bureaucracy unassisted. A physician friend where I live, Dr. Eddie Zant, suggested hyperbaric oxygen, and two courageous Army physicians got the care approved. I was scheduled for forty hours of one-hour treatments with Hyperbaric Oxygen at one-and-a-half atmospheres (HBOT 1.5)--the TBI protocol developed by Dr. Paul Harch. After seven or eight treatments, my wife thought she noticed some improvement but didn't say anything as she was afraid she wanted to see improvement too much. After 12-14 "dives," I thought I noticed an improvement but didn't want to say anything as I didn't want to raise my wife's hopes. Through the efforts of a medical resident, I also built upon the HBOT recovery and benefited from cognitive rehabilitation at Bethesda. At 20-22 dives, people who knew me before the blast and after the blast started commenting that I seemed better and more engaged. After 40 dives, I took a 30 day break and then resumed HBOT 1.5 for the 40 additional recommended sessions.


While I was not able to stay in the Army, I was able--through the treatment, accompanying therapies and my own fear of failure--to go back to my civilian job. While I am not exactly the same person I was before the blast injury, I am substantially as capable and at ease as I was before. I can continue a life of rewarding service, perhaps more deeply motivated because of the gift I was given.


In connection with both my civilian job and personal life, I continue to come across active duty personnel and veterans who appear to have TBI. I've been able to encourage several to investigate hyperbaric oxygen, and every single one treated has shown improvement.


Because HBOT 1.5 is cumulative, I can't say a date my cognition improved, but I can say HBOT 1.5 allowed me to return to work and resume a more normal and optimistic life. I strongly believe HBOT 1.5 should be made available to all TBI-wounded warriors within DOD and the VA. My family and I have experienced the benefits of the treatments. I experienced the frustration of disability, and as a layman, I believe making HBOT 1.5 available will not only improve the quality of lives of our TBI wounded and their families but will also save money that would have been required for lifetime care and pharmaceutical expenses. I believe treatment will very likely reduce the suicide rate. One can't discount the effect of improving morale because treatment is offered, which improves readiness at reduced cost by avoiding some percent of medical discharges and training replacements. As a civilian, I have seen the cost to my community and its families of the wrecked lives of the military TBI casualty.


We can do better for these volunteers, these heroes. We must do better.


DOD and VA can be the leaders in not just identifying TBI but in treating it. We must keep faith with America's battle wounded. We can save money by avoiding a lifetime of pharmaceutical expenses and restore productivity to lives, as well as improve quality of life. I believe it is possible to AVOID the Agent Orange redux that could mask the realities of TBI.


Please encourage DOD, the VA, and Congress to make HBOT 1.5 available for others to live the kind of restored life that has been returned to me.


~ Brig. General Patt Maney, U.S. Army Reserve (Ret.)



Testimonial From Wife of a TBI Disabled Veteran


Living with someone who had a traumatic brain injury and post traumatic stress disorder, let alone being married to this person, has been an unbearable experience. My husband, an Army sergeant, lost both legs above the knees and severely disabled his right hand in November 2006 in Baghdad when his Humvee went over an IED. I thought these were the worst injuries, however I found out that the mental wounds were far worse than the physical ones.

I tried everything I could to make my husband happy and healthy, yet there was nothing I could do until his brain was healed. He wasn’t sleeping through the night, which meant I wasn’t sleeping through the night, which meant when the kids woke us both up at 7:00 am, the whole house was on edge. I would try to discuss things with him, but most of the time he just didn’t have the capacity to be rational. He would also make irrational decisions, such as inviting troubled veterans to live in our house without asking me or considering the effects they would have on our children. He became anti-social, even avoiding his own family. He would rather ignore a problem than find a solution. He was always restless-- wanting to go different places and starting a new, often unproductive, hobby every day--and would blow up over the most insignificant situations.

Something had to be done, but I didn’t know what. Medications only made him less like himself. Then, we heard about the Hyperbaric Oxygen Treatments (HBOT), and Dr. Zant offered his services free of charge--a lucky break for us. Before starting treatments, my husband’s cognitive skills were tested. His scores came out poorly, which didn’t surprise me.

He began treatments, and we both saw his mental improvements. By the end of the first round of treatments, his mentality had greatly changed. He was much more relaxed and satisfied with life in general. Another set of tests confirmed his improvements, with most categories of his cognitive functioning moving up. Since his test scores still had some room for improvement, he did an extra set of 40 treatments and is finishing them now. He took a mid-point test, and every area except one was in the normal or above normal range. Now, we are finally able to work on our struggling marriage in a rational way. Something we didn’t even have a chance to do with his wounded mentality.

I am eternally grateful to Dr. Zant, who provided these services; however, I am disappointed that so many of our veteran friends need this same treatment and are unable to receive it despite their whole worlds falling apart. I don’t understand why more isn’t being done to get all mentally wounded veterans this incredible healing treatment. I firmly believe that suicides and divorce rates among disabled veterans will go down once HBOT treatments are freely offered to these heroes.

~ Erica C.



Concussion Testimonial

Dr. Eddie Zant has a long history of community involvement, especially when it comes to the military. I came to know of Dr. Zant through a co-worker of mine, Dr. James Wright. Dr. Wright overheard me speaking with a friend about my son's medical condition and urged me to see Dr. Zant as soon as possible. In fact, he placed the call to Dr. Zant immediately. Dr. Zant agreed to see my son the following day.

My son suffered a concussion while tubing in the local bayou. The wave runner was traveling approximately 85 miles per hour--excessive speed for tubing. When the driver of the wave runner made a hard turn, my son flew off the tube! He slammed down into the water, striking his head, and was completely knocked out. Luckily, they were just a few feet from the house, and his friends used the buddy system to get him to our home. 
We carried him to the car and headed to the emergency room. The diagnosis was that he had suffered a concussion. My son awoke in the hospital with no memory of the accident. His eyes were somewhat crossed, and his speech was slurred and altered. The doctor on staff said it could take three days, three weeks, or three months for him to fully recover. Our family doctor basically stated the same to us when we visited her. One can only imagine how devastated we were at this news.

Dr. Zant said getting hyperbaric treatment as soon as possible after sustaining a head injury was crucial. After completing a lengthy medical exam and questionnaire, Dr. Zant agreed that my son was a good candidate for hyperbaric chamber treatments. After just one hour in the chamber, my son's speech had improved slightly. After two weeks of one hour sessions, his speech returned to normal, his headache was gone, and his eyes were back to normal. He had a hard time remembering what he had read during the first week of treatment; however, by the end of week two, he was right back at his reading level before the accident. To get his geometry skills back on track, we had to hire a tutor twice a week for one month. Today, my son is a healthy, happy young man getting straight A's and looking forward to his life. He is very conscious of the reality of how life could have been for him if not for the hyperbaric chamber treatments. We are so fortunate to know Dr. Zant, and we are grateful for his compassion when it comes to hyperbaric chamber treatments.

~ Judy S.



Concussion (Traumatic Brain Injury TBI) Testimonial

On November 11, 2008, after having previously completed three overseas deployments totaling more than 20 months, I was involved in a devastating pre-deployment training accident at Ft. Irwin, CA. While returning from the bombing range in the middle of the night, the HMMWV I was driving rolled over in the desert. It landed back on its wheels and had ejected me. My feet were still in the vehicle, but the rest of my body lay twisted in the desert. I could not feel my legs, and blood was coming from my nose, mouth, and ears. 

Other vehicles in the same convoy called for Medevac assistance. I was flown to the ER at Ft. Irwin, where my injuries were assessed and chest tubes were emplaced for a double hemopneumothorax. My injuries were life threatening, so I was flown to Loma Linda Medical Center, CA. I had suffered severe spinal fractures of C2, T4, T11 and L5, a double hemopneumothorax, broken ribs, a cracked sternum, broken clavicle, skull fracture of the left temporal lobe, a severed #6 nerve in my left eye, and was paralyzed as a result of swelling to my spinal cord. After a 16-hour surgery to stabilize my spinal fractures, I had fusions of C2-C3 and T8-T12. I spent several days in the ICU and 3 weeks with chest tubes draining the fluid in my chest cavity. Three and a half weeks after arriving at Loma Linda, I was transferred to the VA spinal cord injury unit in La Jolla, CA, where I continued to receive care for my various injuries. Five months after the initial injury, I was released from inpatient care and transferred to an outpatient facility in Detroit, which specialized in spinal cord injury related physical therapy, where I was classified as a T-7 complete paraplegic.

Nine and a half months after my injury, I was medically retired from the Air Force and transitioned to VA healthcare. I continued to meet with psychiatrists, who monitored me as I transitioned to life as a paraplegic. The unusual sleep patterns, anxiety, edginess, restlessness, trouble with memory, mood swings, and lack of concentration were attributed by medical officials to my new life adjustments and the shock my body had gone through. TBI was never even mentioned by any of my medical staff until a year and a half after my injury, even though it was obvious I had suffered a head injury. 

I began to get back out on my own and live independently again. While going through the administrative functions of receiving care at a new VA facility in northwest Florida, the nurse asked if I had ever been screened for TBI, to which I replied “No.” I was subsequently screened in Pensacola and was diagnosed with mild TBI due to my skull fracture and brief loss of consciousness. However, I did not warrant any type of treatment since, in their eyes, I seemed to be doing just fine and was able to live independently. No in-depth cognitive functioning tests were performed. They did notice that I was still "adjusting," and one psychiatrist suggested putting me on medication, which I immediately declined. I was not taking any pain medications and did not want to rely on medications that only seem to suppress and not alleviate any of the problems. 

In the summer of 2010, I met some fellow veterans who were receiving hyperbaric oxygen treatments from Dr. Zant and his staff for injuries they had suffered on active duty deployments. After talking about the symptoms I was experiencing, they suggested I contact Dr. Zant, and I did so eagerly. Dr. Zant recommended that I come in and take a series of tests to determine if I was a candidate for hyperbaric oxygen treatment. It became evident after looking at my medical history and the results from a series of cognitive tests that this was the treatment I needed. These tests were much more comprehensive than those previously taken and displayed what I was experiencing. 

The initial 40 dives were successful and made an enormous difference in the way I felt mentally. I no longer woke up in the mornings feeling groggy like a "hang-over" everyday. Headaches were becoming less frequent, and my sleep patterns were becoming more normal. I was able to sleep through the night for 7-8 hours. The edgy and anxious feelings I had during the day were greatly reduced. My thought processes and ability to concentrate were also improved. I completed another 40 dives a few months later and continued to make improvements through hyperbaric oxygen therapy. Dr. Zant and his staff were more than caring and went out of their way to accommodate my schedule and needs while providing this therapy.

Having experienced both the active duty military and VA healthcare systems with their eagerness to medicate the patient without actually getting to and treating the root problem, I am thankful for the hyperbaric oxygen therapy, which took care of the actual cause of my problems. Through a non-invasive natural and pain free process, I have regained the mental cognitive functioning lost because of the accident. My quality of life may not be back to pre-accident conditions in the physical sense, but Dr. Zant has allowed me to regain something much greater. He has given me back the mental clarity to proceed with my life and continue making a difference. Though I may never be able to stand on my own, feel the earth beneath my feet, or do many of the things I once loved, I will have the mental propensity to prosper in this life. To me, this is something grander than any physical attribute. 

~ Brian Schiefer, USAF TACP (Ret.)



Concussion (Traumatic Brain Injury TBI) Testimonial

 
In January of 2005, I was assigned to a fire base near the Afghanistan/Pakistan border. I was in an over water position on the perimeter of a small village when we came under intense enemy fire. I was forced to drop ordinance in close proximity to my position (within 100m). Once the ordinance hit the enemy position, I was thrown across the court yard into a small wall. I never lost consciousness but was definitely dazed for a few days after. A week or so later, the SF team I was supporting set up a check point to search traffic coming across the border from Pakistan into Afghanistan. On our check point perimeter, we set up a string of claymore mines in case we were engaged by insurgents. We were engaged by a small insurgent force. As I moved to get cover from enemy fire, the string of claymore mines was initiated. I was located close to the backside of the claymores as they went off, and the concussion pushed me head first into a boulder leaving me dazed but conscious. Three weeks later, I was operating a landing zone at the fire base when a 107mm rocket hit the LZ close to my position and threw me backwards into a barrier. I remained conscious but was extremely dazed. 

Shortly after returning from this deployment, I found it hard to sleep and stay asleep, had drastic mood swings, bad temper, and poor hand and eye coordination. I attributed this to a high operations tempo that had me on a crazy travel and work schedule, traveling back and forth to the US and England. In other words "Jet Lagged." In 2008, I was reassigned to Hurlburt Field as an instructor. I still had problems sleeping, mood swings, and problems with hand and eye coordination. I chalked this up to the fact that my wife and I had three kids in three years and this is how it would be for awhile until the youngest got on a schedule and I could get my sleep schedule back.

In March of 2010, I had my annual flight physical. As I was talking with Doc Ward and slurred my speech a little, he asked if that happened a lot. I opened up to him with all the problems I had been having since early 2005. He informed me that I might have TBI and referred me to Doc Eddie Zant for HBOT treatment. Within the first week of treatment, I was able to fall asleep quickly and stay asleep for 7-8 hrs compared to the 4-5 hours that I was getting before treatment. After the 3rd week, my wife noticed a definite change in my attitude. I wasn't as grumpy, and my bad temper was nonexistent. After the 5th week, I noticed a drastic change in my coordination. My typing had improved, I could play lacrosse better, and my combat pistol shooting had improved immensely. I do believe that the chamber therapy has improved my quality of life. I do not know how or where I would be without it.

~ USAF Special Tactics Combat Controller



Concussion (Traumatic Brain Injury TBI) Testimonial

During a 2009 deployment to Afghanistan, I was exposed to multiple concussive (explosive) events. My symptoms following the deployment were consistent with the symptoms of mild TBI. I was having trouble sleeping (4 hours a night at best), had short-term memory issues, was easily distracted and unable to continue a conversation once interrupted (I'd forget what I was talking about), and was irritable. The only medical or mental health help I was receiving were regular visits with a psychiatrist for a deployment related general anxiety disorder. After some discussions with my medical team, the idea was introduced to send me to Dr. Zant's team for hyperbaric oxygen treatment.

I started my treatment in October 2010 with the usual tests. The scores were well off the baseline established before my deployment. Testing conducted at the midway point of 20 "dives" showed significant improvement. Testing conducted after the final dive showed even more improvement. In addition to the obvious improvements on the testing, I began to feel much clearer in my thinking. I started sleeping through the night again, averaging 7-8 hours of sleep. I wake up feeling more rested than confused. My short-term memory has gotten much better, and I am able to continue a conversation even if I'm interrupted. I'm not distracted as easily as I was before treatment. In addition to these gains, I've seen improvements in the general anxiety disorder. My paranoia, irritability, and level of aggressiveness are way down.


Finally, but definitely not least, Doc Zant and his staff are phenomenal people. They are caring, compassionate, and professional people who go out of their way to ensure the comfort of their patients. Words cannot express the level of gratitude I feel for Doc Zant and his staff. They are all great patriots, and I would highly recommend them and the treatment to anyone.

~ JH



Concussion (Traumatic Brain Injury TBI) Testimonial

In August 2010, I was assigned to a patrol base in Helmand Province, Afghanistan. While accompanying the troops back to Camp Leatherneck, my 4 wheel MRAP struck an 80 lb. IED. The MRAP was lifted into the air during the detonation. After it came to rest, we made sure everyone was all right in the vehicle then cleared our vehicle for any secondaries. There was a Navy corpsman in the convoy, and he quickly cleared to our position to make sure we were all right. I was diagnosed with a grade 1 concussion, and we were brought back to Camp Leatherneck to get a new vehicle. I was dazed and had some headaches after the explosion, but I did not lose consciousness. We were outfitted with a new MRAP and met up with the Georgians to return to our patrol base. Forty-four hours later, on the way back to our patrol base, our 6 wheel MRAP struck a 40 lb. IED. I did not lose consciousness during this IED strike either but had some pains due to striking that IED 44 hours prior. We were brought back to base and examined and told to stand down for 24 hours to let our bodies rest.

Three months later, I was at a new patrol base, and while responding to an IED that was found, I was in the turrent due to imminent danger in the area. Our vehicle struck an 80 lb. IED, and I was told by my teammates that they were yelling my name but I was not answering. When I came to, I turned my 240 and realized that I was aiming at the ground. I had been struck in the face by the butt end of the 240. After this explosion, I was getting headaches more often, and I would forget setting something down and would find it a bit later. A month later, we were on an IED call and started taking accurate small arms fire. During this engagement, one of our US forces stepped on an IED and was KIA around 25 meters away from us. I was struck by the blast wave but was knocked to the ground, and I think the adrenaline kept me going until we made it back to our patrol base. After the adrenaline wore down, I was feeling extremely dazed. 

On the way back to the States, we went to the deployment transition center set up for USAFEOD. I was having a lot of difficulty remembering things like who I talked to and places that I went. On numerous occasions, I went to the BX or a shop, and when I got back to my room, I would ask my roommate if the bags were his. He would tell me that they were mine, but I didn’t remember. My leadership noticed that I was not remembering things and was having problems concentrating and speaking. I would be in mid-sentence and would forget what I was talking about or could not think of words that I knew or how to describe things. I was getting headaches that were making me sit down or have to stop in my tracks and not move. The lights at night were giving me really bad headaches, and my vision went blurry on several occasions. I also had a constant pressure in my head that felt like I was in a fog. I was also experiencing sleep problems and irritability. Upon arriving back in the States, it took me several times to remember people that I would meet, including my First Sergeant. She told me we had met several times, but I did not remember her at all.

I arrived home in January 2011, and my leadership told my wife and I to make sure that I made a appointment immediately. I went in, and the doctors told me that I may have TBI and sent me off base to a clinic. The off base clinic referred me to Dr. Zant's for possible HBOT treatment. I went in to his office, and he started me on the HBOT treatments. After three weeks, the pressure in my head was all but gone, and my mood was getting better. After the 5th-6th week, I noticed a great change in my speaking ability and was remembering some of the conversations that I had. After the 9th week, I was allowed to drive again because I had not blacked out in 5 weeks. My leadership and my wife noticed a drastic change in my mood and my ability to carry on conversations. I believe that the HBOT has helped me tremendously and that I owe my ability to stay in the military and continue to serve this great country to it.


~ USAF EOD Technician



Unborn Child With Stroke & Bleeding - Brain Damage


Our son was born last December and to our shock had suffered in-utero from a severe Grade 4 intracranial hemorrhage and extreme hydrocephalous. The result of a blood disorder called NAIT that I have and didn’t know because they do not test for it!!

So, we had been told the worst case scenario for our child you could ever get. However, today he is showing progress and developing on about a 6 month delay, he has no fall reflexes, poor balance, and is cortically blind. We have been doing everything possible to improve and help him develop obviously. When he was about 6 months old, a friend suggested I look into HBOT (hyperbaric oxygen therapy) for him. I immediately came across Dr. Zant, and we began treatments as soon as he got tubes in his ears. I must admit I was very skeptical that we were going to be wasting our money. I talked to several of his therapists, and they had another Mom tell me their success with HBOT. So, we went for it! You can imagine how scared I was to put my 10 month old into this chamber but, with reassurance from Dr. Zant that he would be fine, in he went. 

He completed 40 treatments just after New Years. Without a doubt, we know that this helped him and we are currently waiting 3 months for him to rest and then plan to do another 40 dives sometime this year. This is no cure for his injury, but I have seen improvement in him that gives me hope he can accomplish some of the bigger milestones one day. His balance has improved, his babbling has improved, he has started responding to things that we say (he will play patty cake, mimic noises with his mouth and repeat the words "bye-bye"). He still doesn’t react to things visually, but he has started bringing things to his nose and concentrating on them very hard, making me think he is seeing tiny glimpses, his interest in eating is better and his PT thinks his tone has improved some. 

We think it was the best money spent so far and wish more parents knew about this. We are so blessed that we found out about this while he was still so young. 



Autism Testimonial


I just want to let you know that everyone continues to see improvements in John. His ABA doctor visited his school and told us that his teacher said his attention span has doubled from what it was last year. A gifted teacher (from Little Rock) told me that John has always come to her to hug her, however on the first day he saw her this year, he called her by her name and said hi, which was unusual for him.

When the principal of his school saw him, she asked me what was going on with him. This was because he was hiding from her (playing with her), and he was extremely talkative to her. The stories go on and on, all concerning the progress he made this summer. I want to thank you and your staff again for offering a service that is helping to improve the quality of life for John and many others.

~ A. S. | John's mother



Autism Testimonial


autism

My son, Zachary, was just over 2 when he started HBOT. He was diagnosed with severe Autism several months earlier. Other treatments that he had already started were Speech and ABA therapies, Vitamin therapy, and the GFCF Diet. While he was showing improvements with these therapies, we wanted to see if there was something else that could aid in the healing process.


Initially, I was apprehensive about him going into “the chamber.” However, he had no problems and actually played with his toys and watched/listened to a video. He completed 32/40 dives, and although it is difficult to pinpoint exactly what therapies and/or treatments actually WORK, I can confidently say that HBOT helped my son considerably. In just one week (three dives), I saw improvements in eye contact, attention, focus, and speech. Over the course of the remainder of the dives, I saw increased attention, stronger eye contact, and additional vocalizations. While there is no “cure” or “magic bullet” for Autism, I believe HBOT helped Zach and has helped other children. I have recommended HBOT to at least 5 other parents of children with Autism, and ALL have said that it is working for their kids!!! This is exciting news!


Dr. Zant and his staff are professional, compassionate, and have a genuine concern about their patients. They are approachable and are willing to answer any questions you may have. And they explain the HBOT process in simple, easy-to-understand terms.


My son will be returning for additional sessions as soon as we can fit them into his schedule. I have no doubt that he will benefit even more from future dives. Again, I highly recommend HBOT to parents of children with Autism and/or other disabilities. It is safe, it isn’t invasive or painful, and most of all, it helps…


Thank you Dr. Zant, Tim and Richard. Your kindness and genuine concern speaks where my son is unable. Someday he’ll be able to say “thank you” himself.

~ Dawn Berge | Mom of Zachary, Age 2



Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) Testimonial

tbi

Dr. Zant and everyone at Hyperbaric Medicine, Inc.
Our 25 year old son suffered a traumatic brain injury May 1, 2004, as a result of an accident on his ATV. After 2 years of therapy, rehabilitation, and recovery, we were still searching for something to help him cognitively. After many prayers, we were led to hyperbaric oxygen treatments as a possibility. We researched this for several months, talked to experts in the field and others who had undergone these treatments for brain injury and were encouraged with the results.


After just 40 treatments, his neuro-psychologist saw remarkable improvement with testing in his verbal domain. These significant improvements 2 years post injury suggest he is developing access to some areas of the brain functioning he did not have prior to these treatments. Others have noticed changes as well, from being more conversational, quicker response times in his thinking, speaking like he did before his accident, etc. If all this is a result of just 40 treatments, imagine what he will be like after 80-120 treatments! HBOT is a worthwhile investment of time, energy, and resources. We would encourage others to explore this course of treatment, the sooner the better.


We want to thank your staff at both your Destin & Ft. Walton Beach facilities. They are all very professional and treated us all like family. We have had nothing but warm responses at both offices. Thanks to you all for helping our family and our son.


After 80 HBO Treatments…

His neurologist was VERY impressed again with his progress when we saw him this week. Others who have talked with him or seen him this week are impressed as well. I think his fine motor skills have improved some with this last set of treatments. He had been working on a typing program on the computer before the treatments...before this last set he was having difficulty passing to the next level. When he got home this week (after NOT practicing for 4 weeks), he immediately passed to the next level on his first day!! I also think some of his increased tone on the right side has been relaxed… Dr V. thinks he is walking some what better.

~ M M | Fortson, GA



Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) Testimonial


To all of the very fine and caring individuals at Hyperbaric Medicine, Inc: My son suffered a very serious TBI on 5/18/01. He had been slowly recovering at his own pace and with the benefit of numerous months of physical and speech therapy. We discovered your facility and began a series of “dives” in October of 2004. My family all agrees that where we saw the most significant improvements to our son was in his cognitive function. It is certainly very subjective, but our son certainly improved with the hyperbaric dives. I am confident in stating that we continue to see ongoing benefits from the now discontinued treatment.


Dr. Zant is without a doubt one of the most compassionate individuals that I have ever had the pleasure to meet. His facility is absolutely first class. All of the hyperbaric technicians and staff at the facilities are dedicated and knowledgeable. The fact that they are genuinely involved with their patients care and recovery is constantly evident throughout a patients time spent in their care.

~ The Family of T L | Destin, FL



Lymes Disease Testimonial


I am writing to express thanks for you and the hyperbaric chamber. I contracted lymes disease about six years ago. The doctors ran every test known to man before they would even test for lymes. Lymes is not classified as a recognized disease and, therefore, is not covered by insurance. This, in the eyes of most doctors, allows lymes to not exist, therefore the results probably showed a false positive. I had several tests sent to different labs--they all came back positive. Each doctor was either willing to treat the symptoms but not the disease or considered me too old to treat. (I was 65 at the time.) I finally found a doctor in another town who was willing to treat the disease, following guidelines collected from the internet that had proven effective on others. I was showing improvement, only to find my body would not tolerate the high doses of antibiotic he prescribed. I assumed I would have to live with the remaining symptoms, which were painful joints, general weakness, and tiredness.

Then, in May of this year (2006), I had a mild stroke. This led me to you. You suggested the chamber might not help my symptoms but to call back after seeing the neurologist. In the meantime, my acupuncture physician, who had been working with me for lymes, called and said another patient of his who had lymes had been cured in the hyperbaric chamber. At this writing, I have had 30+ treatments. You started me at 17' for the first week to see how I adjusted, then increased it to 33' for 1 1/2hr. The first week at 33', I was actually feeling more joint pain. The second week, I experienced slight improvement. My children said they could see a positive difference. As treatments progressed, I definitely felt the improvement--more energy, less joint pain. Now and for the last two weeks, I am able to swim laps for the first time since I contracted lymes, using all strokes. I could not even do the crawl stroke and could do the others only gently when I started treatment. I am now taking only occasional pain medication at night to sleep, whereas before I could not sleep without pain medication each night. I have more energy to do the things I love and even the things I don't.

Being able to swim laps will return my body to usefulness and me to life. I feel you and the chamber have given me a second chance to live a full life, and I give you permission to use any or all of this letter in hopes other lymes patients will benefit as I have. I feel the hyperbaric chamber can bring hope to lymes patients where little existed before.

With blessings and gratitude,


~ W M



Stroke Testimonial

stroke I just returned from visiting my parents, checked my mail, and much to my surprise, there was your message. I would be delighted for you to use my saga on your website! My first stroke was 3/2/04. You have all of the data on this one, because I lived there and came to see you in April.

I reviewed your entire site and am very excited for you. You'll get many hits, and this will bring lots of public knowledge to the great work you are doing for people! You just can't find HBOT centers for people like me anywhere. I've tried. I've searched everywhere up here, Penn., Va., Md., and DC, and I've not been able to find chamber centers for walk-ins or for people whose ailments are not approved for hyperbarics. You and I both know that it works!


~ R



Stroke Testimonial


Retired, 65 years old, driving a 42' RV diesel pusher, we headed for Alaska to fulfill a dream. I was felled by a hemorrhagic stroke. The next day, June 17, 2004, a small jet flew us from the Yukon to Harbor View Medical Center in Seattle, Washington.

I was paralyzed, confused, and non-responsive. My family was advised that my survival was in question. After weeks of treatments, I was flown home for rehab. I began to take halting steps with a gate belt and assistance. I was totally dependent on others for my most basic of needs.

A patient shared information about the successful use of hyperbaric oxygen therapy in Germany. Our medical team just blew this off saying there was no validity in the use of hyperbaric oxygen therapy for stroke.

In June of 2005, Dr. Zant started hyperbaric treatments. The results were like coming out of a deep mental fog into a clearing. I could process thoughts. I could focus on my surroundings. I could read and retain. I became a conversationalist again. I regained interest in current events. My sense of humor was restored. My balance improved. Before hyperbarics, I had two severe falls requiring 911, hospitalization, and stitches. I was stoic, because I had to concentrate to absorb what was being said.

I am a great back seat driver now, paying strict attention to traffic and giving my wife advice. Before HBOT, I just sat with my head down, confused by the passing traffic. My wife is grateful for hyperbaric, as she says she has a companion again, not just a passenger. We have long discussions, and I am able to contribute my ideas. My eyesight is clear. Before, it was like looking through Vaseline covered glasses. I feel good after a dive, clean and clear mentally and physically.

I drive a golf cart around the neighborhood. I operate an electric scooter racing all over the mall, Home Depot, the grocery store, fairgrounds, beach, and the zoo with my grandchildren. Most importantly, I know where I am and know where I am going, so I am independent. We belong to two stroke support groups and attend many conferences where we exchange our experience with hyperbarics.

I hope Medicare someday approves this treatment for stroke survivors. It enhances our quality of life. I went from a transfer board and wheelchair to a slow walk with a cane. I take care of my needs and even cook dinner, do dishes, and enjoy life.

When I win the Lotto, I will visit Dr. Zant and get daily dives. With money and opportunity, I would spend the rest of my life receiving hyperbarics. The deep breathing of pure oxygen relieves all slight headaches, aches, and pains. I feel relaxed and renewed. As a diabetic, the side benefit is increased circulation.

Thank you and God bless you, Dr. Zant and Lynn.

~ J M | South Florida



Autism Testimonial


autism

Our four year old son Jack was diagnosed with Autism. Since his diagnosis, we have immersed Jack in multiple therapies: speech, physical, ABA, etc. in order to help him obtain speech, cognitive, and social skills. Prior to the HBOT therapy, Jack's eye contact was minimal at best. He was only able to formulate two word sentences and then, typically, only when prompted. After 20 dives, we were able to see improvements in Jack's focus and eye contact. Jack also initiated word usage (minimal, but there). After 40 dives, we noticed more focus on Jack's part as well as Jack stringing together 3 and 4 word sentences. Jack's cognitive skills and motor coordination have also shown signs of improvement… Jack was pedaling his tricycle and trying to steer. We are very excited about the advancements that Jack has been making since starting the HBOT treatments.


Dr. Zant and his staff were wonderful in working with Jack. There was always someone present during Jack's dive to ensure that no problems arose. This provided us, as parents, with a sense of comfort for Jack's safety. Their kindness, compassion, and general demeanor created an environment that made Jack feel comfortable and secure. Dr. Zant and his staff answered all of our questions and concerns regarding the use of the hyperbaric chamber with a child as young as Jack, not only physiologically but technically as well. We have been extremely pleased with the treatment results to date and are extremely gratified to have this treatment center available to us in our area. To have this facility local, coupled with the quality of the staff, has been a blessing to us.

~ K B | Panama City, FL



Autism Testimonial


autism

My son was diagnosed with autism when he was two years and four months old. His symptoms included being non-verbal, very little eye contact, arm flapping, and an obsession with opening/closing doors and spinning objects. He made some babbling, non-functional sounds, but very little. Soon after his diagnosis, another mother who had a two-year old son with autism told me about Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy.

I went by and met with Dr. Zant at the Destin Hyperbaric Medicine facility. Dr. Zant took time to show me the oxygen chambers and explain how they worked. I was really nervous about putting my son in the chamber for the first time, assuming that he would freak out being closed up in the chamber by himself. However, I was pleasantly surprised as to how easily he accepted being put into the chamber. He would hang out for an hour and watch a video. I believe the oxygen made him feel good, so he actually enjoyed his treatments. My son is now two years and eight months, and we have completed a total of 40 dives.

Since the beginning of his treatments, his eye contact has drastically improved, and he has started talking. He has a vocabulary of 10-25 words currently, and it is growing each week. Overall, he is calmer and more focused. Socially, he is developing his own personality and becoming a very loving, outgoing child. We are taking a break for a few months, and then we intend to get our son another 40 treatments. We believe that he can benefit even more from Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy. I am very thankful to the mother who originally shared this treatment option with me and very grateful to Dr. Zant and his Hyperbaric Medicine facility for the wonderful improvements in my son.


~ D S & T S



Autism Testimonial


Brennan went into regressive Autism after striking a 105 fever within 24 hours of his last set of vaccinations. Within eleven days after that shot, Brennan lost all of his words and began his descent into the world of Autism. We have done a lot of different therapies-- diet interventions cf, sf, gf and sugar free and the SCD diet (which I recommend), Pecanbread.com (SCD info), some oral chelation (with amazing booms in language during the chelation but regression after), and we have done long-term azole antifungals/antivirals with great success.

We did a lot of reading about the great successes ASD children have had with hard chamber only hyperbaric treatments. We researched on the internet and found that my favorite place in the world had a wonderful facility right in the heart of Destin, FL. Dr. Zant is truly a fine man with a heart of gold. He accommodates families on a level that I have never experienced before. He saved us money by allowing us to go straight through the weekends, completing our forty sessions in exactly three weeks. After our first day of two sessions, we saw remarkable changes in Brennan. He ate things he never would have eaten, and he slept soundly throughout the night. By the end of the sessions when we arrived back home and pulled up in the driveway, Brennan said, without any prompting, "Home."

Throughout the first week home, Brennan's vocabulary exploded with him saying things we never had heard him say before. We were now sold on the amazing healing properties of hyperbaric therapy and decided to commit to another 40 rounds of treatments for Brennan.

Anyone who has a child who is suffering from Autism owes it to their child to give them a chance to heal with the help of hyperbaric treatments through Dr. Eddie Zant. You will not be disappointed.


~ D S



Pervasive Developmental Disorder Testimonial


At the age of two and one half, our son Hunter was diagnosed with Pervasive Developmental Disorder (NOS). This disorder is commonly associated with Autism.

A respected physician in Charlotte, North Carolina first introduced our family to HBOT. After researching HBOT and interviewing several treatment centers, we decided to seek treatment for our son with Dr. Zant and his staff in Destin, Florida. To receive treatment in Destin, Florida while living in upstate South Carolina was a major undertaking. This decision caused us to relocate our family for an entire month and was extremely difficult to do, yet it was the best decision we have ever made.

During the third week of treatment, we started to notice remarkable improvement in Hunter's fine and gross motor skills. The improvements have continued and changed Hunter's life for the better. Hunter has seen incredible improvement in dexterity, coordination, more normal gait, eating skills--the things we all take for granted that these children struggle with. In some areas, there was so much improvement that the next school year, Hunter's physical education teacher contacted us and explained he felt like he was working with an entirely different child.

We feel so very blessed to have found Dr. Zant and his staff. We are thankful for the life changing improvement we have seen in Hunter. We are equally thankful for the care and assistance provided by Dr. Zant and his staff as we are for the treatment Hunter received. They are truly incredible people, who care about their patients at a level that is hard to find in our society today. I would recommend and endorse Dr. Zant and his staff to any and everyone considering HBOT.

~ D & D H | Anderson, SC

 


Necrotizing Fascitis (Flesh Eating Bacteria)

It is impossible for me and my family to adequately express our appreciation to Dr. Eddie Zant and his staff at the Hyperbaric Medicine Oxygen Therapy facility in Destin, FL. My family lives in Colorado. Our adult daughter was in Destin, FL and, after swimming in the ocean, her knee became swollen and walking became painful. She went to Sacred Heart Hospital emergency room and they determined she had developed a bacterial infection, likely from the ocean through a slight abrasion on her knee. After a couple days of treatment including a minor surgery and antibiotics, she suddenly became much more seriously ill. A MRI showed she had necrotizing fasciitis and about 25% of the muscle in her leg was dead. Fortunately, her orthopedic surgeon immediately diagnosed her situation, and he and an infectious disease doctor treated her with strong antibiotics and a series of surgeries to debride the dead tissue in her leg.

After her first debridement, her surgeon recommended hyperbaric oxygen treatment and contacted Dr. Zant. Though my daughter's ability to pay was in doubt, Dr. Zant immediately accepted her as a patient and began treatments. She was in the hospital for 2½ weeks and had five total surgeries. Dr. Zant and his staff treated her on a daily basis while she was in the hospital and after she was released. Her doctors had prescribed IV antibiotics for two weeks after she was released.

Shortly after her release, the swelling in her leg, particularly her knee, increased and, though she didn't fall on her knee, she fell to the side and the jarring opened the stitches on her knee. She was prescribed an additional two weeks of antibiotics, and it was determined the wound needed to heal from the inside out with the use of a wound vac.

Throughout this process, Dr. Zant continued to treat her in the hyperbaric oxygen chamber, even on holidays. Ultimately, we returned to Colorado and her wound eventually healed through use of a wound vac. She has not been on antibiotics since she left Destin. Thanks to the expert care she received in Destin, she was disease free.

Before this incident, we were unaware of the severity of this disease, but we've learned a very high percentage of patients with necrotizing fasciitis do not survive with either life or limb. We are convinced that the hyperbaric oxygen treatment gave our daughter back her leg and maybe her life. The surgeon was excellent but we know that through the efforts of Dr. Zant and his wonderful, professional and friendly staff, the bacteria eating its way up her leg was not able to survive. Dr. Zant has the medical information that describes why this treatment is so effective for necrotizing fasciitis, and we are forever grateful that he immediately responded to her need. We are convinced this treatment is under-utilized and has the capacity to speed healing in a number of life-threatening situations.

 

Addition of New Larger Hyperbaric Chamber 

Addressing radiation-related urinary incontinence and bowel problems, I just completed hyperbaric oxygen therapy (HBOT) -- breathing 100% oxygen in a pressurized chamber. My treatment involved daily 90-minute HBOT sessions at a dive depth of 33 feet.